Teruhiko Komori

The Japanese Baritone Teruhiko Komori started his studies at the Tokyo University (concert and opera) followed by studies in Berlin, Germany. He was the first Japanese singer who participated in the classes of Prof. Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau at the “Hochschule der Künste” Berlin and studied further with Harald Stamm and Hans-Gerold Schramm. Mr. Komori attended several masterclasses by Hans Hotter, Donald McIntyre, Dalton Baldwin, Gino Bechi, András Schiff and Hermann Prey.


During his studies he made his opera debut as Germont in La Traviata at the Prag State Opera in 1999.  2000 – 2012 he has been a member of the Theater Altenburg and Gera in Thuringia, Germany. In this opera house he sang the major roles of the dramatic baritone “Fach”. A.o. the title roles in Rigoletto, Der fliegende Holländer, Wozzeck and Don Giovanni, Jago in Otello, Scarpia in Tosca, Lescaut  in Manon Lescaut, Telramund in Lohengrin, Graf Almaviva in Le nozze di figaro and Escamillo  in Carmen. In 2011 he has been awarded as the first Japanese singer with the title “Kammersänger”.


Guest invitations all over the world. 2006 he has been invited to the Salzbourg Festival to sing the Anführer in Das verratene Meer by Hans Werner Henze under the baton of Gerd Albrecht and with the orchestra of the RAI Torino. Yoshio in Toshio Hosokawa’s opera Hanjo (following the novel of Yuko Mishima) he sang in Torino and Milano.


To Japan he has been regularly invited as Jochanaan in Salome, Robert Storch in Intermezzo, Mandryka in Arabella, Musiklehrer in Ariadne auf Naxos, Jupiter in Die liebe der Danae, the title role in Orfeo and Macbeth, Simone in Eine florentinische Tragödie, Wotan in Wagner’s Ring, Telramund in Lohengrin, the four bariton roles in Les contes d’Hoffmann and the title role  in Lear by Aribert Reimann.


In 2012 the artist has been appointed to be Professor at the Tokyo College of Music and returned back to Japan.


Teruhiko Komori worked with artists like:  Michel Plasson, Peter Konwitschny, Myung-Whun Chung, Andrea Battistoni, Kazuki Yamada, Jun Märkl, Gabriel Feltz, Alexander Liebreich, Andreas Homoki, Karoline Gruber, Simone Young, Sascha Goetzel.